untitled-1

“Amaterasu” Painted in Photoshop CS6

 

2016 is almost over.  It has been quite an emotional year, a few of ups, and bunch of downs.  Working on art helps.  The ability to lose myself in a painting, to just let the rest of the world and the troubles fall away, is a gift. So I’ve worked on my art, and I’ve seen a lot of improvement, but when a painting is done the rest of the world comes crashing back. Do I continue to allow myself to use art as an escape? Or do I start using my art to make a difference?  I don’t think the things that I want in the world are too much to ask for:

kindness, equality, acceptance…

Aren’t these the things we are all striving for?  But I turn on the news and my heart is saddened.  I see my country divided, I see hate, I see a continued disregard for the state of the environment.  What kind of world are we leaving for the next generations if we allow this to continue?  I’m asking a lot of questions in this post, and I don’t have all the answers.  Honestly, I’ve never been very good with words, that is why I picked up a paintbrush to begin with.  What I do know is that now more than ever love, and kindness must prevail. To those of you who are scared, I hear you, and I will stand beside you. Now is not when we can afford to stay in the darkness and let our voices be silenced. Let your beautiful light shine brightly. And I promise I will too.  Never give up the dream of a better world and a better future.

Let’s start #arevolutionofkindness

Let me leave you with this quote:
“Never believe that a few caring people can’t change the world. For indeed, that’s all who ever have. ” ~ Margaret Mead

Leave a Reply

